Skip to content

All pieces in place for return to standing committees

Committee of the whole is done and out
Elliot Lake city hall is pictured in this file photo. Melanie Farenzena/ElliotLakeToday

Meeting times for the return of Elliot Lake’s standing committees will be the same as when the committees were disbanded in July last year.

Council endorsed ending its committee of the whole six-month trial at its meeting on Feb. 26. 

The decision paved the way for the return of the standing committee system by council at its meeting Monday evening with councillors agreeing to retain the meeting times the committees held prior to being dropped in favour of the committee of the whole experiment in mid 2017.

Councillors have already been appointed to the various committees. The finance and administration committee will be chaired by Councillor Norman Mann with councillors Chris Patrie and Connie Nykyforak also serving on the committee. The bylaw and planning committee will be chaired by Councillor Tammy VanRoon with councillors Chris Patrie and Mann as members.

The recreation and culture committee will be chaired by Coun. Nykyforak with councillors VanRoon and Ed Pearce as members and the public services committee will be chaired by Coun. Luc Cyr with councillors Pearce and Mann as members. 

The economic development committee will be chaired by Coun. Pearce with councillors Cyr and VanRoon as members. 

The committees will also have members from the public. A full slate of committee members has yet to be finalized.

Under the previous standing committee structure, meetings were generally held around 4 p.m. or 5 p.m. on Mondays to allow staff that needed to be present to finish out their work day and not have to return to city hall for an  evening meeting.

The committee meetings are held in the council chambers.

Councillors agreed the committee meetings should take place on Mondays as was the previous procedure prior to them being disbanded last July.